Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published February 19, 2010


Green Bag Appointments Made to Local Community College Boards of Trustees, the Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO), the Workforce Development Corporation Board, and the Maryland Arts Council

ANNAPOLIS, MD (February 19, 2010) - Governor Martin O’Malley today submitted a list of 191 “green bag” nominations for appointment and reappointment to the Maryland Senate for State boards and commissions. Governor Martin O’Malley yesterday made several appointments to local school boards, including Allegany and Queen Anne’s Counties Boards of Education and the Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners.

Governor Martin O’Malley submitted new nominees for the Prince George’s Community College, the Montgomery Community College, and St. Mary’s College, along with a series of reappointments to Community College Boards around the State.  The list also includes nominees for the Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO), the Workforce Development Corporation Board, and the Maryland Arts Council, among other regulatory and advisory boards. 
“I am especially proud to make a number of appointments and reappointments to fill key leadership positions on College and Community College Boards to continue the progress we have made in building the No. 1 ranked school system in America, and to continue our investments we have made in our human capital,” said Governor O’Malley. “We have worked hard to compile a list of individuals from across our State with diverse geographic, gender and ethnic backgrounds to continue to help protect Maryland’s priorities.”

The term “green bag” derives from the historical green satchel that is used once every year to bring the gubernatorial nominations to the Senate. When not in use, the bag is stored at the Maryland State Archives. It is state tradition that a senior member of the governor’s staff delivers the “green bag” to the Senate.

Among the 191 nominees are:
Lynn Loughlin Skerpon, Prince George’s Community College Board of Trustees: Ms. Skerpon is being nominated for appointment to the Prince George’s Community College Board of Trustees.  Ms. Skerpon has 25 years of law experience and six years of service as an elected official.  Ms. Skerpon currently serves as a Senior Advisor to the Comptroller of Maryland and has served in that role since 2007.  She also serves as an Estates & Trusts Attorney in her own practice, and is an adjunct professor of Trusts and Estates Law for The Catholic University Columbia School of Law.  From 2000 to 2006, Ms. Skerpon served as the Register of Wills for Prince George’s County and represented over 846,000 constituents.  Ms. Skerpon has taken on a number of civic leadership roles in the Prince George’s County community including Trustee for the Capital Hospice, Chair of the Visionary Panel Task Force on Educational Opportunities for Senior Citizens, and Trustee for the Prince George’s County Community College.  She received her Bachelor of Arts in Politics from Princeton University in 1975 and received her Juris Doctor from the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law in 1978.  She is a resident of Mitchellville, Prince George’s County.
Kenneth Jay Hoffman, M.D., M.P.H., Montgomery College Board of Trustees: Dr. Hoffman is being nominated for appointment to the Montgomery College Board of Trustees.  Dr. Hoffman is a retired Colonel from the United States Army, and currently serves as Clinical Director for Mental Health Services at the U.S. Department of State, and also runs a private and consulting practice in preventive and psychiatric services.  In 2008, he served as Chief of Medical Informatics at the U.S. Department of State.  He is also an adjunct assistant professor for Preventive Medicine/Biometrics and Psychiatry at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.  From 2005 to 2008, Dr. Hoffman was the Medical Officer for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSHA).  Dr. Hoffman has been a consultant to a number of hospitals and medical centers, including Walter Reed Army Medical Center, the Army Surgeon General, 121 General Hospital, Korea, the National Naval Medical Center, and the Madigan Army Medical Center, among others.  He is a recipient of the Secretary’s Distinguished Service Award in 2006, and the Wellcome Medal and Prize for the Association of Military Surgeons of the U.S. in 1989.  Dr. Hoffman’s military honors include: the Legion of Merit in 2004, the Order of Military Medical Merit in 2003, the Defense Superior Service Medal in 2002, the Army Surgeon General “A” proficiency designator in 1999, the Army Commendation Medal in 1999 and 2003, the Defense Meritorious Service Medal in 1995 and 1998, the Joint Service Achievement Medal in 1989, the Meritorious Service Medal in 1986, the Expert Field Medical Badge in 1985, and the Basic Flight Surgeon Badge in 1983.  Dr. Hoffman received his Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry and Biology from Cornell University in 1975, and received his Medical Degree from Eastern Virginia Medical School in 1979.  Dr. Hoffman also received his Masters of Public Health from Harvard University in 1987.  He is Board Certified in Psychiatry and Neurology, specializing in Psychiatry and Addictive Psychiatry and Preventive Medicine.  He is a resident of Rockville, Montgomery County.
The Honorable Sheila E. Hixson, St. Mary’s College Board of Trustees: Delegate Sheila Hixson is being nominated for appointment to the St.  Mary’s College Board of Trustees.  Delegate Hixson was elected as a member of the Maryland House of Delegates in 1976, representing District 20 in Montgomery County.  She is the chair of the House Ways & Means Committee, and the first woman ever to chair that committee in Maryland.  As chair, she is responsible for state and local taxation matters; education programs and financing; elections; transportation funding; lottery and horse racing; and issues relating to children youth and families.  She is also a member of Maryland’s Thornton Commission and one of the original supporters of the five-year Bridge to Excellence Plan for public primary and secondary education.  She graduated from Northern State Teachers College.  She is a resident of Montgomery County.
The Honorable James A. Kenney, III, St. Mary’s College Board of Trustees:  Judge Kenney is being nominated for appointment to the St. Mary’s College Board of Trustees.  Judge Kenney is an accomplished lawyer, practicing for the past 44 years.  In 1997, he was appointed judge in the Court of Special Appeals by Governor Glendening, where he served until his retirement in March 2007.  Judge Kenney is the founding member of the St. Mary’s College of Maryland Foundation and served as Foundation President from 1993 to 1999.  He has served as an adjunct associate professor in the political science department of St. Mary’s College of Maryland since 1964.  He was Assistant State’s Attorney for St. Mary’s County from 1964 to 1967 and has served as chair of the St. Mary’s County Economic Development Commission.  Judge Kenney received his Bachelor of Arts from Dickinson College in 1959, attended the Yale Divinity School from 1959 to 1960, and received his Juris Doctor from the George Washington University School of Law in 1963.  He was admitted to the Maryland Bar in 1963 and is a member of the American Bar Association, the Maryland State Bar Associati