Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published May 12, 2010

Franchot Announces Baltimore City Steering Committee

Cross-section of top City leaders sign on as co-chairs

May 12, 2010 (Silver Spring, Md.) – An impressive list of elected officials and community leaders from Baltimore City have endorsed Comptroller Peter Franchot’s re-election campaign and joined his countywide steering committee. The Committee will be co-chaired by six of the county’s most respected elected officials: Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, Senator Joan Carter Conway, Delegates Curt Anderson, Talmadge Branch and Maggie McIntosh and City Council President Jack Young.

Stephanie Rawlings-Blake currently serves as Mayor of Baltimore. She previously served as City Council President and Chair of the Budget and Appropriations Committee. As Council President, she chaired the City’s Board of Estimates. Upon her election in 1995, she became the youngest person ever elected to the Baltimore City Council at age 25.

“Comptroller Franchot is providing real solutions to address Maryland’s fiscal challenges by making his office more efficient and customer friendly for law-abiding taxpayers,” said Mayor Rawlings-Blake. “He’s promoting fairness in the Office by making it easier for those who do the right thing and aggressively enforcing the small percentage of businesses and people who try to cheat. I am pleased to support his re-election as Comptroller, and am sure he will continue to have broad support in Baltimore City in the fall.”

Over his first term, Comptroller Franchot has earned state and national recognition for his commitment to make the state tax filing process more user-friendly, as well as his aggressive efforts to identify and collect delinquent tax revenues that are owed to the State of Maryland. Under his leadership, a record number of Maryland taxpayers have paid their taxes electronically and opted for direct deposit, which saves the State millions in processing costs while enabling families throughout Maryland to receive their state refunds in 2-3 business days.

Meanwhile, Comptroller Franchot's efforts to crack down on tax avoidance schemes such as the Captive REIT deduction and Delaware Holding Companies have recaptured hundreds of millions of dollars for the State of Maryland in the midst of difficult fiscal times.

“I am honored and humbled to have such broad support from highly respected leaders in Baltimore City,” said Comptroller Franchot. “In my efforts to make the Comptroller’s Office a nationally-recognized success, I depend on leaders throughout the State and I look forward to having their help as I run an aggressive campaign in Baltimore City and throughout Maryland.”

“Comptroller Franchot has been an independent voice and fiscal watchdog on behalf of Maryland’s taxpayers,” said Delegate Maggie McIntosh. “Especially in times like these, we need someone who will push for accountability and fiscal responsibility to ensure we have the resources we need for priorities like education, public safety and protecting the environment.”

Delegate Maggie McIntosh represents the 43rd Legislative District in the Maryland House of Delegates where she has served since 1992. She currently serves as Chair of the Economic Matters Committee and Chair of the Maryland Democratic Coordinated Campaign. She has previously served as House Majority Leader and Deputy Majority Whip.

Senator Joan Carter Conway represents the 43rd Legislative District in the Maryland Senate. Serving as Chair of the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee, she became the first-ever African American woman to chair a Senate Standing Committee in Maryland’s history. In 2000, the Daily Record named her among “Maryland’s Top 100 Women.”

Delegate Curt Anderson represents the 43rd Legislative District in the Maryland House of Delegates, where he has served since 1983. He currently serves as Chair of the Baltimore City Delegation. A former Chair of the Legislative Black Caucus, Anderson serves on the House Judiciary Committee and Chairs its Trust and Estates sub-committee.

Talmadge Branch represents the 45th Legislative District in the Maryland House of Delegates where he serves as Majority Whip. He is a former Chair of the Legislative Black Caucus and founder of its foundation. He serves on the Legislative Policy Committee, the Special Joint Committee on Pensions and the Appropriations Committee, where he previously served as Vice Chair.

Council President Jack Young was elected as President of the Baltimore City Council in 2010. He has served on the City Council since 1996, originally elected to represent District 2. From 2007-2010, he served as Chair of the City Council’s Public Safety and Health Committees.

For more information about the Franchot campaign, please visit