Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published February 06, 2012


Highly Qualified Candidates Bring a Wealth of Experience

ANNAPOLIS, MD (February 6, 2012) - Governor Martin O’Malley today announced appointments to the Harford Community College Board of Trustees and the Anne Arundel School Board Nominating Commission.

“All of these members are strong Maryland leaders with a commitment to the state’s educational programs and our students’ success,” said Governor O’Malley. “These appointees will bring a wealth of diverse experiences and expertise to the responsibilities of each body.”

The Harford Community College Board of Trustees

Governor O’Malley appointed Rich Norling (District D) and Conrad E. Hunter (at-large) to the Harford County Community College Board of Trustees, and reappointed the current chairman, Bryan E. Kelly (at-large), Doris Carey (District A), and John Haggerty (District C).

Richard D. Norling is the StateStat director for the Department of Natural Resources and the former chair of the Harford County Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commission. Norling was previously the program coordinator for the Ocean Energy Licensing Program at NOAA, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and before that, staff director of two subcommittees of the U.S. House of Representatives’ Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries. He is also the owner and manager of Deer Creek Farm, a thoroughbred race horse farm in Darlington. Norling earned a BS in Mathematics and a BA and MA in Political Science from Ohio State University. He resides in Darlington.

Conrad E. Hunter, Sr. is a pastor at the St. James African Methodist Episcopal Church and a retired Anne Arundel County educator and administrator. He has served his community as a commissioner on the Housing Authority of Havre de Grace; as a member of the Harford County Branch of the NAACP and as the vice president of the Susquehanna Ministerium, also in Havre de Grace. He earned a BS in Elementary Education and a MS in Education Administration and Supervision from Morgan State University, with additional graduate work at Goucher, Coppin and Loyola Colleges, and St. Mary’s Seminary and Ecumenical Institute. He resides in Havre de Grace.

The current chairman, Bryan E. Kelly, is the managing partner and owner of The Kelly Group, providing personal financial planning. Doris Carey is a retired Harford County teacher. John Haggerty is a former athletic director at the Harford County Community College.

The Anne Arundel County School Board Nominating Commission

Governor Martin O’Malley announced the appointment of Kory M. Blake to the Anne Arundel County School Board Nominating Commission, representing District 21. Blake is currently a staff representative for the AFSCME Council 67. Previously he worked for the Splash Dive Center, Inc. in Alexandria as the service manager, instructor and trainer. Before that he was the president of the Bakery, Confectionary & Tobacco Workers, Local 357 in Niagara Falls, NY. He earned a BA in History from Indiana University- Purdue University (IPFW). He has taken additional coursework at the National Labor College, at the George Meany Center in Silver Spring. He is a resident of Odenton.

The Governor also reappointed the additional four district representatives to the Anne Arundel School Board Nominating Commission. The Governor reappointed Joshua Greene, Esq. as the representative for District 33 and as chair of the Commission. The other district representatives are Konrad Wayson for District 30, Christine Davenport for District 31, and Lee Roy Payne for District 32.

The Anne Arundel County Executive appoints one resident to the Commission and additional Commission appointments are made by community organizations for a total of 11 members. The Commission’s statutory mandate is to select nominees from whom the Governor must choose appointments to the Anne Arundel County Board of Education when such a vacancy of the Board occurs.