Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published April 16, 2010


ANNAPOLIS, MD (April 16, 2010) - Governor Martin O’Malley today announced the confirmation of various appointments to Education Boards and Commissions including the University System of Maryland Board of Regents, the Maryland Higher Education Commission, the Maryland State Board of Education, and local Community College Boards.  Governor O’Malley also reappointed MacArthur Jones and Janice Walthour to the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees. 

“I am proud to announce the confirmations of appointments and reappointments to various education Boards and Commissions to continue the progress we have made in building the No. 1 ranked school system in America, and to continue the investments we have made in our human capital,” said Governor O’Malley. “We have worked hard to compile a list of individuals from across our State with diverse geographic, gender and ethnic backgrounds to continue to help protect Maryland’s priorities.”

Background information on each of the appointees is below:

University System of Maryland Board of Regents:


Paul L. Vance, Ed.D. – Dr. Vance has been appointed to the University System of Maryland Board of Regents.  Dr. Vance has over thirty years of experience working in education, including the top post of Superintendent of Schools.  From 2003 to 2006, he served as the Superintendent of Schools for the District of Columbia Public School System.  From 1977 to 1999, Dr. Vance advanced from the Area Associate Superintendent of Montgomery County Schools, to Deputy Superintendent in 1987, and then Superintendent in 1991.  Prior to that, Dr. Vance was the Deputy Superintendent for Baltimore City Public Schools.  From 1968 to 1972, Dr. Vance served as Principal of the Clarence E. Pickett Middle School in Philadelphia.  He also served as a Social Studies/Science Specialist in Philadelphia in his early years.  Dr. Vance is the recipient of a number of awards including Educator of the Year from the African American Business Council, the Excellence and Service award from the Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators, the Lifetime Achievement and Hall of Fame Induction from the National Alliance of Black School Educators, and the Legacy Award from the Montgomery County Workforce Development Commission.  Dr. Vance received his Bachelor of Science from Cheyney University in 1952, received his Master of Science from the University of Pennsylvania in 1960 and received his Doctor of Education from the University of Pennsylvania in 1974.  He is a resident of Montgomery County.


Louise M. Gonzales – Ms. Gonzales has been appointed to the University System of Maryland Board of Regents.  Ms. Gonzales is a Partner and Co-Founder at Hylton & Gonzalez, a law firm specializing in Trusts, Special Needs Trusts, Estate Planning and Probate.  Ms. Gonzales has been practicing at the firm since 1980. Prior to that, she was an Associate at Blades & Rosenfeld, P.A.  She is a member of the American Bar Association, the Maryland State Bar Association, where she served as President from 1991 to 1992, the Maryland Bar Foundation, and the Maryland State Bar Association Leadership Academy.  She is also currently a member of the First Maryland Disability Trust Board of Directors, the B’More Clubhouse Inc. Board of Directors, and the Maryland Legal Mutual Insurance Society.  Ms. Gonzales received her Bachelor of Arts cum laude from the University of Maryland in 1971, and received her Juris Doctor with honors from the University of Maryland Law School in 1976.  She is a resident of Baltimore City. 


Leslie Donald Hall – Mr. Hall has been appointed as the Student Regent appointment to the University System of Maryland Board of Regents.  Mr. Hall is currently a junior at Bowie State University where he is studying to obtain his Bachelor of Science in History Secondary Education.  He is currently the Chief of Staff for the Student Government Association (SGA) where he oversees all of the SGA’s committees, serves as the official parliamentarian for all Executive Board meetings, and monitors office hours of Executive Board members.  Mr. Hall is also a Campus Coordinator/Intern for Democracy Matters, and is a Senior Resident Assistant for Bowie State University.  From 2006 to 2007, he served as the Student Board Member on the Prince George’s County Board of Education.  He also volunteers for Project College and mentors high school seniors on higher education decisions, and for S.O.M.E. (So Others Might Eat) where he assists in feeding the homeless. Mr. Hall attended the Forestville Military Academy and received his diploma with Military and Academic Honors in May 2007.  He is a resident of Prince George’s County.


Maryland Higher Education Commission:


Sandra L. Jimenez – Ms. Jimenez has been appointed to the Maryland Higher Education Commission.  Ms. Jimenez currently works as the Parent Involvement Specialist for Prince George’s County Public Schools.  Prior to her current role, Ms. Jimenez was the Principal for Buck Lodge Middle School in Hyattsville, and prior to that, served as Principal at Langley Park McCormick Elementary School in Hyattsville.  From 1996 to 2002, she was the Vice Principal for Buck Lodge Middle School.  In 1999, she was nominated for the Milliken Principal’s Award, and in 1996, she won the G. Richard Tucker Fellowship from the Center for Applied Linguistics.  Ms. Jimenez received her Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Kansas, and received her Masters of Arts in Educatio