Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published April 28, 2010

Franchot Announces Anne Arundel County Steering Committee
Leaders from across the County sign on as co-chairs

April 28, 2010 (Annapolis, Md.) – An impressive list of elected officials and community leaders from Anne Arundel County have endorsed Comptroller Peter Franchot’s re-election campaign and joined his countywide steering committee. The Committee will be co-chaired by five of the county’s most respected elected officials: House Speaker Michael E. Busch, State Senator James “Ed” DeGrange, Sr., Delegate Mary Ann Love and Councilmembers James Benoit, Daryl Jones and Charles Ferrar.

Speaker Busch has served as Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates since being unanimously elected in 2003. He has served in the General Assembly since 1986, representing District 30. Prior to serving as Speaker of the House, Busch served as Chairman of the Economic Matters Committee and of the Anne Arundel County Delegation in the House of Delegates.

James “Ed” DeGrange, Sr. was elected to the Maryland Senate from District 32 in 1998, after representing District 2 on the Anne Arundel County Council. He currently serves on the Budget and Taxation Committee. Senator DeGrange chairs the Subcommittee on Public Safety, Transportation and the Environment and the Subcommittee on Capital Budget, and is Vice-Chairman of the Executive Nominations Committee.

“By making it easier for law-abiding citizens to pay their fair share of taxes, and by working aggressively to collect delinquent tax revenues that are owed to the State, Comptroller Franchot is providing real solutions to Maryland’s fiscal challenges,” said Senator DeGrange. “He promised to make his office a national model for innovative taxpayer service and compliance, and he has kept that promise. I’m pleased to support his re-election as Comptroller, and look forward to working with him as we move forward.”

Over his first term, Comptroller Franchot has earned state and national recognition for his commitment to make the state tax filing process more user-friendly, as well as his aggressive efforts to identify and collect delinquent tax revenues that are owed to the State of Maryland. Under his leadership, a record number of Maryland taxpayers have paid their taxes electronically and opted for direct deposit, which saves the State millions in processing costs while enabling families throughout Maryland to receive their state refunds in 2-3 business days.

Meanwhile, Comptroller Franchot's efforts to crack down on tax avoidance schemes such as the Captive REIT deduction and Delaware Holding Companies have recaptured hundreds of millions of dollars for the State of Maryland in the midst of difficult fiscal times.

“I am truly honored to have the support of such an accomplished and highly respected group of Anne Arundel County leaders,” said Comptroller Franchot. “I’ve depended greatly on their support in making the Comptroller’s Office a nationally-recognized success, and I look forward to working with them as I run an aggressive campaign in every corner of Anne Arundel County this year.”

Councilmember Charles “Chuck” Ferrar serves on the Anne Arundel County Council, representing the Sixth District. An independent business owner, he currently serves as National Vice-President of the American Beverage Licensees. He was previously awarded the National Retailer of the Year Award. Ferrar is a Past President of the Anne Arundel County Licensed Beverage Association, the Maryland State Licensed Business Association, the Maryland State Licensed Beverage Association, and the Wholesalers Retailers Association of Maryland.

“Comptroller Franchot has been an independent voice on behalf of Maryland’s taxpayers, and a tough fiscal watchdog who has demanded accountability for the way in which our tax dollars are spent,” said Ferrar, who has served on Comptroller Franchot’s Business Advisory Council since its inception in 2008. “I am particularly pleased with the way he has reached out to Maryland’s business community and asked for our advice on issues that affect our ability to succeed and create jobs.”

Delegate MaryAnn Love has served in the House of Delegates since 1993, representing District 32. She currently serves as Chair of the Anne Arundel County House Delegation, President of the Women Legislators Caucus of Maryland and Deputy Majority Whip. She is a previous recipient of the Anne Arundel Trade Council Legislator of the Year Award.

Councilmember G. James Benoit represents District Four on the Anne Arundel County Council. A former Army officer, Benoit has been awarded the Joint Service Commendation Medal, the Army Commendation Medal, Army Achievement Medal and the National Defense Service Medal.
Councilmember Daryl Jones serves on the Anne Arundel County Council. He was previously on the Anne Arundel County Democratic Central Committee, serving as both Chair and Vice-Chair. Jones has previously won the Humanitarian of the Year Award from the Anne Arundel County Bar Association.
Comptroller Franchot will also be speaking at the Anne Arundel County Jefferson Jackson Dinner on Thursday, April 29.

For more information about the Franchot campaign, please visit