Home Local Maryland Government Announcement Originally published August 30, 2011


ANNAPOLIS, MD (August 30, 2011) – Governor Martin O’Malley this morning released the following statement on power outages across the state. Today, Governor O’Malley will tour affected areas in St. Mary’s, Charles and Calvert counties, while Lt. Governor Brown checks-in with the response effort in Central Maryland. Please see full detailed schedule here.

“Utility crews continue to work around the clock to restore power to thousands of families and businesses in our State. Lt. Governor Brown and I ask that Marylanders continue to exercise patience as crews work as quickly as they can to restore power.”

“At the height of the storm, there were approximately 822,000 power outages. Currently, there are approximately 287,000 outages. We will continue to provide updates until power is restored to every family and business in Maryland. I encourage everyone to check on their family members, friends and neighbors; particularly the elderly to make sure everyone is safe.”

On August 27, 2011, the State of Maryland received an Emergency Declaration for eight counties and Baltimore City for sheltering and evacuation in advance of Hurricane Irene. On a call with reporters last night, Governor O’Malley announced that 14 additional counties were added to the Declaration: Alleghany, Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George’s, St. Mary’s, and Washington. This brings the total to 22 counties and Baltimore City that have been declared for a 75 percent reimbursement from FEMA for emergency protective measures in advance of Hurricane Irene.

Stay updated on the latest outages in Maryland by clicking here.